Summer Concert on July 6th 2018

For this year's summer program, we performed two symphonies:

In the first half of our program, we played the second symphony by Carl Nielsen. The Danish conductor and composer (1865-1931) is very well known in Denmark, although his oeuvre is less known in other European countries. He composed his second symphony at the beginning of the 20th century. His inspiration for the piece was a painting he had seen in a Danish tavern depicting the four temperaments according to the medicinal and later proto-psychological theory dating back to Hippocrates in ancient Greek. The symphony's four movements are each dedicated to one of the four temperaments and impressively transform their essence into Music:

  1. Allegro collerico (Choleric)
  2. Allegro comodo e flemmatico (Phlegmatic)
  3. Andante malincolico (Melancholic)
  4. Allegro sanguineo — Marziale (Sanguine)

In the second part of the evening, we performed Johannes Brahms's second symphony:

  1. Allegro non troppo (D major)
  2. Adagio non troppo (B major)
  3. Allegretto grazioso (quasi andantino) (G major)
  4. Allegro con spirito (D Major)

This piece is regarded as the famous composer's most popular symphony. Nevertheless, it seemed to just "flow" from his hands: after it had taken him 15 years to write his first symphony, he completed the second in just five months. Although Brahms described his composition as being overly melancholy, its character is rather pastoral. With the main motives being rather simple, the composer still manages to deceive the listener by showcasing his mastery of composition, e.g. trough the means of shifting the beat and hiding the classical structure of the movements.

As an encore we performed Carl Nielsen's Dance of the Cockerels.